skip navigation

Uber V-Day

English | Deutsch | Español | Français

Die Biographie von Eve Ensler, der Gründerin von V-Day, findet Ihr hier (in Englisch).

V-Day ist eine weltweite Bewegung von AktivistInnen mit dem Ziel, Gewalt gegen Frauen zu beenden. V-Day versteht sich als Katalysator, der kreative Veranstaltungen fördert, um zu sensibilisieren, Geldmittel einzubringen und den Geist existierender Anti-Gewalt-Organisationen wiederzubeleben. V-Day schafft eine breitere Aufmerksamkeit für den Kampf gegen Gewalt gegen Frauen und Mädchen, einschließlich Vergewaltigung, häusliche Gewalt, Inzest, weibliche Genitalverstümmelung und Sexsklaverei.

Im Rahmen von V-Day Kampagnen produzieren Ehrenamtliche in der Gemeinde und Studierende an Hochschulen jährliche Benefiz-Aufführungen der "Vagina Monologe", von "Eine Erinnerung, eine Erzählung, eine Klage und ein Gebet", "Any One of Us: Words From Prison" sowie Filmvorführungen von dem V-Day-Dokumentarfilm "Until the Violence Stops" und dem PBS-Dokumentarfilm "What I Want My Words To Do To You", Informationsveranstaltungen ("Teach-Ins") zu V-Day’s Spotlight und V-Men Workshops, um die Bevölkerung zu sensibilisieren und um Geldmittel für lokale Anti-Gewalt-Organisationen einzubringen.

2012 fanden über 5800 V-Day Benefizveranstaltungen statt, die von Ehrenamtlichen in den USA und in der gesamten Welt produziert wurden. Dadurch wurden Millionen von Menschen über die Realität von Gewalt gegen Frauen und Mädchen informiert.

Performance ist nur der Anfang. Um über Gewalt gegen Frauen zu informieren und um die Einstellung der Gesellschaft zu diesem Thema zu ändern, inszeniert V-Day groß angelegte Benefizveranstaltungen und organisiert innovative Zusammenkünfte, Filme und Kampagnen. Dazu zählen der Dokumentarfilm "Until the Violence Stops"; Informationsgespräche über verschollene und getötete Frauen von Juárez, Mexiko; die Reise der V-Day Delegation nach Israel, Palästina, Ägypten und Jordanien im Dezember 2003; das Gipfeltreffen der afghanischen Frauen; die Delegation nach Indien im März 2004; der "Stop Rape" Wettbewerb; das "Indian Country"-Projekt; "Love Your Tree"; und das Festival "UNTIL THE VIOLENCE STOPS: NYC", die Veranstaltungen zum 10jährigen Jubiläum von V-Day, V TO THE TENTH in der New Orleans Arena und im Louisiana Superdome; die Kampagne "Stop Raping Our Greatest Resource: Power to the Women and Girls of the Democratic Republic of Congo; sowie die V-Girls und V-Men Kampagnen, die 2010 eingeführt wurden.

In Afrika, im Mittleren Osten und in Asien unterstützt V-Day langfristig den Aufbau von Bewegungen und Netzwerken gegen Gewalt gegen Frauen und Mädchen. In Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Organisationen stellte V-Day hart erworbene Geldmittel für die Öffnung der ersten Frauenhäuser im Ägypten und Irak bereit. Außerdem wurden jährliche Workshops und drei landesweite Kampagnen in Afghanistan unterstützt, die "Confronting Violence"-Frauenkonferenz in Südasien organisiert, und Satellitentelefone für afghanische Frauen gespendet, die ihnen Kommunikation und das Planen von Aktionen ermöglichten. V-Day spielte eine wichtige Rolle in der Entstehung von Karama, einem Programm, das in ägypten, Sudan, Marokko, Tunesien, Algerien, Jordanien, Syrien und Libanon aktiv ist. Karama strebt an, existierende Bemühungen gegen Gewalt gegen Frauen zu unterstützen und zu stärken, durch ein Vernetzen von lokalen Frauen- und anderen zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen, die in den Bereichen Analyse und Interessenvertretung gemeinsam auf nationaler, regionaler und internationaler Ebene aktiv sind.

Die V-Day Bewegung wächst rasant und weltweit, sie ist derzeit in 167 Ländern aktiv, von Europa bis Asien, Afrika und die Karibik, und in ganz Nordamerika. V-Day, eine gemeinnützige Gesellschaft, vergibt Finanzierungen an lokale, nationale und internationale Organisationen und Programme, die gegen Gewalt gegen Frauen und Mädchen arbeiten. Im Jahr 2001 wurde V-Day von "Worth Magazine" als eine der "100 Best Charities", 2006 wurde V-Day von Marie Claire Magazine als eine seiner "Top Ten Charities" ernannt, und 2010 als eine der am besten bewerteten Organisationen von GreatNonprofits. Die V-Day Bewegung hat in 16 Jahren über 100 Millionen US$ mobilisiert und mehr als 300 Millionen Menschen erreicht.

Das 'V' in V-Day steht für Victory (Sieg), Valentine (Valentinstag) und Vagina.


Möchtet Ihr ein V-Day Event organisieren? Hier gibt es mehr Informationen.

skip navigation

About V-Day

English | Deutsch | Español | Français

To read V-Day founder Eve Ensler's bio, click here


V-Day is a global activist movement to end violence against women and girls. V-Day is a catalyst that promotes creative events to increase awareness, raise money, and revitalize the spirit of existing anti-violence organizations. V-Day generates broader attention for the fight to stop violence against women and girls, including rape, battery, incest, female genital mutilation (FGM), and sex slavery.

Through V-Day campaigns, local volunteers and college students produce annual benefit performances of The Vagina Monologues, A Memory, A Monologue, A Rant and A Prayer, Any One Of Us: Words From Prison, screenings of V-Day's documentary Until The Violence Stops, and the PBS documentary What I Want My Words To Do To You, Spotlight Teach-Ins and V-Men workshops, to raise awareness and funds for anti-violence groups within their own communities. In 2012, over 5,800 V-Day benefit events took place produced by volunteer activists in the U.S. and around the world, educating millions of people about the reality of violence against women and girls.

Performance is just the beginning. V-Day stages large-scale benefits and produces innovative gatherings, films and campaigns to educate and change social attitudes towards violence against women including the documentary Until The Violence Stops; community briefings on the missing and murdered women of Juarez, Mexico; the December 2003 V-Day delegation trip to Israel, Palestine, Egypt and Jordan; the Afghan Women's Summit; the March 2004 delegation to India; the Stop Rape Contest; the Indian Country Project; Love Your Tree; the June 2006 two-week festival of theater, spoken word, performance and community events UNTIL THE VIOLENCE STOPS: NYC ; the 2008, V-Day 10-year anniversary events V TO THE TENTH at the New Orleans Arena and Louisiana Superdome; the Stop Raping Our Greatest Resource: Power To The Women and Girls of the Democratic Republic of Congo Campaign; the V-Girls Campaign, and the V-Men Campaign.

In Africa, the Middle East, and Asia, V-Day commits ongoing support to build movements and anti-violence networks. Working with local organizations, V-Day provided hard-won funding that helped open the first shelters for women in Egypt and Iraq; sponsored annual workshops and three national campaigns in Afghanistan; convened the "Confronting Violence" conference of South Asian women leaders; and donated satellite-phones to Afghan women to keep lines of communication open and action plans moving forward. V-Day was instrumental in the founding of Karama, a program working in Egypt, Sudan, Morocco, Tunisia, Algeria, Jordan, Syria and Lebanon that works to build upon and strengthen efforts to end violence against women by bringing together local women's organizations and other civil society groups in collaboration, analysis and advocacy at national, regional and international levels.

In conjunction with the 15th anniversary, V-Day launched its most ambitious campaign to date - ONE BILLION RISING. The concept of the campaign is simple. If you take into account the statistic that 1 out of 3 women will experience violence in her lifetime, you are left with the staggering statistic that over 1 billion women on this planet will be impacted by violence. On V-Day's 15th Anniversary, 2.14.13, we are inviting ONE BILLION women and those who love them to WALK OUT, DANCE, RISE UP, and DEMAND an end to this violence. V-Day wants the world to see our collective strength, our numbers, our solidarity across borders.

The V-Day movement is growing at a rapid pace throughout the world, in 167 countries from Europe to Asia, Africa and the Caribbean and all of North America. V-Day, a non-profit corporation, distributes funds to grassroots, national and international organizations and programs that work to stop violence against women and girls. In 2001, V-Day was named one of Worth Magazine's "100 Best Charities," in 2006 one of Marie Claire Magazine's Top Ten Charities, and in 2010 was named as one of the Top-Rated organizations on GreatNonprofits. In sixteen years, the V-Day movement has raised over $100 million.

The 'V' in V-Day stands for Victory, Valentine and Vagina.

To learn more about how to organize a V-Day event, click here.